VGM Names Blackburn 2018 HME Woman of the Year Award

Georgie Blackburn of BLACKBURN’s becomes the third winner of VGM’s annual award recognizing women in the industry for their leadership and advocacy.

The VGM Group has recognized Georgie Blackburn, vice president of government relations and legislative affairs at BLACKBURN's Physicians Pharmacy Inc., as the 2018 HME Woman of the Year. Blackburn received her award during a special ceremony held before the Washington update at this week’s Medtrade conference and expo in Atlanta, Ga.

A charter member of HME Business’s Editorial Advisory Board, Blackburn has worked in the HME industry for 40 years. Her efforts on behalf of HME have included state and national advocacy as a member of the Pennsylvania Association of Medical Supplies board of directors and the executive board of the American Association for Homecare. Blackburn currently serves on AAHomecare’s Complex Rehab and Mobility Council, the National Coalition for Assistive Rehab Technology’s board, and her local Chamber of Commerce board of directors.

Upon receiving the award, Blackburn said, “There are so many women in this industry that I take my cues from, that I’ve learned from, so to be honored in this way is just wonderful. I’ve never gone to work thinking that I’m going to work. I’ve always felt that I am providing a service to somebody.

“I love advocating for what this industry needs with elected officials because I believe there’s always a way to improve health care policy,” she added. “We cannot help our clients that need our services and we certainly can’t help our businesses to thrive unless we work on federal and state policies that make sense and that are beneficial for their budget as well as our patients and business.”

Blackburn was one of four finalists, which included a group of nominees from across the nation and from a wide range of positions within the HME industry. Her fellow finalists included Karen Atkins, CEO and president of Mobility First; Colleen Hunter, president and CEO of Browning’s Pharmacy and Health Care; and Deanne Sandvold, vice president and owner of EZ-ACCESS. Finalists were chosen based on the criteria such as their implementation of new business processes, their industry advocacy, how they have improved patients’ lives, and their community involvement.

Blackburn is the third recipient of the Woman of the Year Award, following previous winners Dr. Kristen Davin, president of Precision Seating Solutions, and Barbara Leech, CEO of Healthline Medical Equipment.

To learn more about the Woman of the Year Award, visit

About the Author

Leila McNeill is a former associate editor for HME Business and Mobility Management.


Sun, Oct 28, 2018 Marty

Congratulations Georgie!!! Well deserved!!

Add your Comment

Your Name:(optional)
Your Email:(optional)
Your Location:(optional)
Please type the letters/numbers you see above.
Managing the Digital Patient Experience podcast with Nupura Kolwalkar